RVRR Scholarship

2023 Scholarship Winners

2023 Winners (from left to right)

Zhi Yuan 'Jason' Lin - Highland Park High School 

Kevin Dai - John P. Stevens High School 

Percy Singson - Piscataway High School

Scholarship Program


The Raritan Valley Road Runners’ (RVRR) primary objective is the promotion and encouragement of running. RVRR events raise funds which are used to host future running events and to promote running. RVRR is a non-profit organization dedicated to promoting running for positive physical and mental health benefits. Accordingly, as a nonprofit, RVRR uses these funds to support running related activities and to raise the visibility of RVRR in the community. In this context, the RVRR board has created a scholarship program to help high school seniors and community college student runners, who attend school in Middlesex and Somerset counties, advance their education. It is also a way to reward, encourage, and recognize our local running youth who have achieved athletic success in the sport of running. The scholarship rewards strong academics and those who have demonstrated both citizenship and good sportsmanship. We are not necessarily looking for the best or fastest runners; what we look for is evidence of the student's enthusiasm for running. Financial need is a consideration. The program is funded through individual donations, donations made in memory of a loved one, funds from the club sponsored races, and business contributions.

Why does RVRR want to award a scholarship? 

Given today’s higher education costs, any support for area runners is welcome. Each calendar year, RVRR will present $1000 scholarships to deserving runners who attend high school or community college in Middlesex and Somerset Counties in New Jersey.  Scholarships will consist of a one time award of  $1000 per each award recipient.  The number of scholarship awards may vary and is subject to annual budgetary review.  The scholarship c0mmittee, in conjunction with Raritan Valley Road runners,  reserves the right to refrain from awarding scholarships in any given year.  The committee in conjunction with Raritan Valley Road Runners also reserves the right to temporarily pause the scholarship program, or to discontinue the program after any pending awards are presented.

The benefits include:

·     recognition and promotion of runners in our area

·     raising the visibility of running among young people in our community

·     encouraging local runners to pursue running and education

·     raising the visibility of RVRR in the community, which might have the added benefit of increased membership.    


Scholarship Process

RVRR will reach out to area coaches and schools to publicize the scholarship. Under the auspices of the RVRR Board, a 3-member volunteer committee will conduct the selection process.  RVRR will award one-time $1,000 scholarship(s) to a maximum of three local runners.  The awards will be presented in the late spring or summer after the application deadline closes.   Award payments will consist of single checks presented to each award recipient, made out to the college or university that the recipient will be attending in the fall.

To promote the selected students, the selection process will be completed by April 1st so that award announcements can be included in spring awards banquets and graduations. This will provide additional recognition for the scholarship recipients. We will release press notices to newspapers and local radio stations to announce the recipients.


Application Process:

The application is comprised of 5 parts:

1. Application Form (link below)– Complete and sign.


2. Short Essay – Written by the applicant, addressing the criteria listed in the application.


3. Letter of Recommendation – 1-page recommendation from the candidate’s running coach, emailed directly by the coach to the scholarship selection committee.


4. Unofficial school transcript – Proof of weighted GPA of 2.75 or higher.


5. Proof of Enrollment  – proof of acceptance or enrollment in a 2- or 4-year college program.

Applications will only be accepted via email. The applicant should submit the Application Form and Short Essay, and the coach should submit the Letter of Recommendation. Please email all documentation to scholarship@rvrr.org 

All components of your application must be received by February 28, 2023.

Selection Criteria:  

It will be the sole discretion of the scholarship committee to determine the best candidate(s) among those applying each year.



Scholarships are awarded one time. The scholarship committee can choose not to award any funds in a given year.


Use of Funds and Distribution:

The award is intended for the use of the recipient in pursuit of post-secondary education. Funds will be issued directly to the student. Recipient agrees to have picture and highlights featured on rvrr.org.

Donations can also be made in memory of a loved one.  RVRR is a tax exempt organization under 501c3 and as such, donations to the scholarship fund are tax deductible.

Prior Scholarship Recipients

2022- Imagen Walters Middlesex High School

2022- Lee Twombly Franklin High School

2021- NICOLE TEDESCO Franklin High School

2021- SEAN CASTELLANO Immaculata High School

THANK YOU to our Generous Donors 


5K DONORS (Up to $25)  

Alterman, Marc Sara Grieco Jaroslaw Skalik

Thomas Aussem Suzan Hemstock Katherine Sutton

Curt Bashford Ismael Jimenez David Whitehead

Donna Briganti Maher, Brendan Richard Fried

Wendy Brooke Marie Mezaber Lisa Ievers

Tania Conwell Ilene McFarland Evan Koblentz

Kimberly Czernikowski Kathy Mindish Max Christensen

Craig Desantis Rick Mohring

Rachel Engelson Carissa Olarte

Rafal Gilarski Michelle Pabuwal

10K DONORS (Up to $50)

Jumas, Anna

Allara, Dave

Horvath, Lauren

Susanne Cranz Mileva

Megan Incantalupo

Robyn Burke

Jim Carr

Half Marathon DONORS (Up to $100)

Paul Grassie

Hilary Claggett

Wendy and Matt Reed, in memory of Thomas Reed and Joseph Rieger

Sonal Shah

Johnelle Whipple

Nadyne Venturini

Marathon DONORS (Up to $500)

Matthew Geibel

Christina Caimi

RVRR Volunteers via Jersey City Newport Half Marathon

Jeanette Hur, Declan and Kaia O'Reilly, in memory of Our Dad, Tom O'Reilly

Christine Dugan In memory of our Tommy'O

Ultra DONORS (> $500)

Mr. and Mrs. Tom O'Reilly, in memory of Tom O'Reilly

Jessica Clarke